The Methuen Inaugural Now and Then

Congratulations to Mayor Elect Jim Jajuga, who will be sworn in today at Methuen High School at 2:00 p.m. Mayor Jajuga will be Methuen’s fifth Mayor of the modern era following the Charter change that brought us the Mayoral form of government in 1993. Methuen changed to a Town Administrator/Council form in 1973 and then a Town Manager/Council form of government after abandoning Town Meeting. After the 1993 change Methuen had its first Mayoral election since Samuel Rushton won the office before 1920. Mayors, by Charter, are limited to three two year terms. Let us take a look at how those five Mayors won office.

In 1994 Dennis DiZoglio led the ticket in the very large primary field, and then defeated a young upstart City Councilor named William Manzi in the final election. Mayor DiZoglio won three terms as Mayor, and during his tenure the school system built the three K-8 grammar schools (Marsh, Tenney, and the Timony schools.)

Mayor DiZoglio Sworn in.

Mayor DiZoglio sworn in by Town Clerk James Maloney.

Mayor DiZoglio Inaugural

Mayor DiZoglio gives his Inaugural address.

Mayor Sharon Pollard won the first of her three terms by defeating City Councilor Larry Giordano in her first run for that office. Mayor Pollard was a former State Senator, and a former Secretary of Energy for the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, working for Governor Dukakis. A little remembered fact is that then City Councilor Steve Zanni was in that preliminary election for Mayor.

Mayor Pollard with Manzi Family

Mayor Pollard posing with the Manzi family at her Inaugural

Following Mayor Pollard was Mayor William Manzi III. (Yes, the same one that lost to Mayor DiZoglio.) In my initial race I defeated Ellen Bahan for the office. In 2006 I was sworn in by none other than today’s Mayor-elect James P. Jajuga, outfitted in a regal set of Justice of the Peace robes. I also served three terms, and was very happy to secure the state financing for the High School project, and get that construction started.

Manzi Inaugural 2006

Jim Jajuga swears in Bill Manzi in 2006.

Manzi Inaugural 2006

Speaking to the crowd at the Tenney School in 2006.

Manzi Inaugural 2010.

The third Manzi Inaugural, in the Great Hall, Searles Building.

Mayor Stephen Zanni is leaving office after three terms. Mayor Zanni defeated Al Dinuccio in 2011, and twice won re-election. Congratulations to Mayor Zanni as he completes his third term. He can be proud of many substantial accomplishments, including the completion of the Methuen High School project, and the total renovation of Nicholson Stadium, including brand new artificial turf. I had the pleasure of serving with him as a City Councilor, and also during my tenure as Mayor. We wish him the very best!

Zanni Swearing in 2012

Mayor Zanni sworn in by City Clerk Tina Touma-Conway.

Mayor Zanni City Council

Mayor Zanni poses with the newly elected City Council 2012.

The Four Mayors.

The Four Mayors of the modern era pose at the Inaugural of Mayor Zanni in January of 2012.

Mayor Zanni Second Inaugural

With Mayor Zanni at his second Inaugural, at the Methuen Memorial Music Hall, 2014.

Mayor Zanni Third Inaugural

With Mayor Zanni at his third Inaugural, with City Councilor Ron Marsan.

Mayor James P. Jajuga is Methuen’s fifth Mayor of the modern era, and won election in 2017 while running unopposed. Mayor Jajuga is a former State Senator, has served as the Massachusetts Secretary of Public Safety,as well as having a long and distinguished career as a Massachusetts State Trooper. As a State Trooper Mayor Jajuga headed the Regional Drug Task Force, and is considered an expert on creating and implementing strategies to combat opioid abuse. We wish Mayor Jajuga the very best as he begins his first term as Mayor.

This entry was posted in Methuen, Methuen City Council, Methuen Mayor's Race and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s